Did Somebody Say “Scallops”?

19 Feb

One of the best things about living on Capitol Hill is having easy access to Eastern Market. I find myself there at least once per weekend to check out the seasonal produce and wander through the flea market.

But did you know? While the outdoor market is only open on the weekend, the vendors inside the Eastern Market building are open all week. Stop on by sometime, especially if you, like me, are of the carnivore persuasion. The meat and seafood displays are impressive.

Today, I have an Eastern Market-inspired recipe that would be just perfect for your next special occasion dinner. You know, when you feel  like you need to pull out the stops and act a little classy.

The main attraction? Scallops. Big ol’ sea scallops, to be exact. Wrapped in thick cut bacon. Be still my heart.

Check out the recipe below, adapted from the one and only Emeril Lagasse. Bam!

Bacon Wrapped Scallops in  Brie Cream Sauce

Ingredients

1 quart heavy cream
6 slices bacon (via Eastern Market)
8 sea scallops (via Eastern Market)
2 tablespoons olive oil

8 ounces Brie cheese (Trader Joe’s makes the best!)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon white pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium saucepan reduce the cream by 1/2, skimming the foam off the top. This can be tricky – it will need to boil but be careful not to let the cream bubble over the sides.

Meanwhile, lay the bacon on a cookie sheet and place in the oven for 5 minutes or so. Remove the bacon from the oven and let cool. Once the bacon is cool, wrap each scallop with 1 piece of bacon, using toothpicks to fasten the bacon to the scallops. (Broken popsicle sticks also work, for what it’s worth.)


Season the scallops with 1 teaspoon of the salt and 1/2 teaspoon of the white pepper. Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan until hot, then add half of the scallops to the pan and cook for about 2 minutes on each side. Remove them from the pan and place them on a baking sheet. Repeat this process with the remaining scallops, then transfer the baking sheet to the oven until the scallops are just cooked through, 3 to 5 minutes. This is important! Do not over cook!


Remove the rind from the brie and cut into small pieces. Add the brie to the hot cream and whisk until melted. Season the sauce with the remaining 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/4 teaspoon of pepper and the nutmeg.

Serve the scallops on small appetizer large dinner plates with the Brie cream drizzled around the edges. Grilled asparagus is a great way to round out the meal.

So there you have it. A special occasion meal that will not disappoint. But a dinner this good calls for an equally-indulgent dessert.

Never fear, dear readers: next time, we will explore what could be the perfect way to end the perfect meal: homemade red velvet cake.

Until we meet again…

8 Responses to “Did Somebody Say “Scallops”?”

  1. Kalyani Phansalkar February 19, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Yumm! I love scallops (and seafood, in general) and that recipe looks so delicious! I had bacon-wrapped scallops in New York this past winter break and they were so so good. Thanks for the recipe, because I will definitely try my best to make them at home. Also, great pictures!

    Can’t wait for the red, velvet cake!

  2. NoTimeFor10 February 19, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    This looks great! I’m actually not a scallops person but my boyfriend is. I was just at Eastern Market this weekend and bought homemade sausage and fresh bacon. It was packed!

    Another good place to get fresh seafood is at the southwest marina http://www.yelp.com/biz/maine-avenue-fish-market-washington. I live near there and it’s a lot of fun to head over there on a weekend afternoon and pick up some fresh seafood to cook for dinner.

  3. HK February 19, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    It looks so good!! I tried once before. Just couldnt figure out how long I had cook. I ended up over-cooking the scallops lol thnx for the recipe

  4. District RestauRANT February 21, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Why. Would. You. Do. This. To. Me.

    I just drooled all over my desk. Now I need a paper towel.

    Be right back.

    Okay. WHAT THE HECK THIS LOOKS AMAZING!!! Please tell me those are real-live photos of what you actually MADE. And then please tell me you are bringing this in for us (read: ME) on Monday???

    Also, red velvet cake is my all-time FAVORITE!! If you post the recipe, I hereby promise to make red velvet cupcakes using your recipe– and then bring them in to class for everyone 🙂

    Deal is ON. Now THAT’S *Social* 😉

    • farmtoforkdc February 25, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Thanks! By the way, I am so holding you to this… 🙂

  5. Allee Sangiolo February 22, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Ok a few things:
    1) I’m incredibly jealous that you like near eastern market. I love it. My roommates and I used to go every sunday in college, and now I never seem to get out there much anymore.
    2) Those. look. amazing. And I’m definitely trying that recipe. Ina Garten also has DELICIOUS ones that are so incredibly simple. Try her scallops provencal: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/scallops-provencal-recipe/index.html
    but definitely do it with sea scallops b/c I tried it once with bay scallops and it wasn’t nearly as good.
    3) I have the same plates as you. World market? haha

    • farmtoforkdc February 25, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Ooh, Ina’s recipe looks great, and dare I say healthier. And yep, you called it, World Market! Although I might need to spring for a new set soon since these ones are starting to get chipped after a couple of years of wear and tear…

      • nikkidisresearch February 26, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

        I’m waiting for the red velvet cupcaktes…. These look delicious, and ironically, I just had a few yesterday! Yum! Do you think shopping local matters?

Leave a Reply

