What I Did On My Spring Break: Or, A Few Delicious Things I Ate At Disney World

22 Mar

Last week I had the unbelievable good fortune of being sent to Orlando for work. (Coincidentally, my trip just happened to fall during GWU’s spring break week.)

Unfortunately, the conference hotel had sold out long before I had a chance to snag a room. But you know what they say – when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. I took it as a sign that it was meant to be that I turned my business travel to a mini-vacation. Without a second thought, I booked a room in a Disney World resort instead. And you had better believe it was SO worth it.

After the conference was over, I spent a couple of extra days exploring Disney World for the first time. I’m a California girl, so Disney Land I understand. But Disney World? It’s a whole ‘nother ball game. I mean, the Magic Kingdom’s Cinderella castle is like Disney Land’s version, but on steroids.

Going to Disney World as an child-less adult has its perks. No strollers to hold you back from easily navigating around crowds waiting in line to meet Winnie the Pooh. (Although I will admit that, I did get my picture taken with at least one character.) No worrying about if/when your kid will suffer a meltdown in one of the countless gift shops over which stuffed Mickey he will get to take home. And, perhaps most importantly, the freedom to choose when and what you feel like eating.

Disney World as an adult is fun, and I dare say, the food can be great. Without further ado, here is a list of the top five fun foods that I enjoyed during my Disney long weekend.

1. Mickey Pretzel

(Via)

The ubiquitous snack food can be found at nearly every cart inside the park. I don’t know what they put in these things (extra salt? pure joy?) but oh man they are good.

2. Specialty Apples At the Candy Cauldron

(Via)

These apples are a double whammy – pretty AND tasty. Almost too cute too eat… almost.

3. Red Cup Special At JellyRoll’s

(Via)

Like I said, being an adult at Disney World is fun. This piano bar features classics (Sweet Caroline) and Disney tunes (Be Our Guest) and BIG (32 ounce) drink specials. Also, check out the River Roost Lounge at the Port Orleans Riverside hotel. The nightly piano improv is pretty entertaining.

4. Fish Tacos at Kona Cafe

(Via)

This mid-priced restaurant is located within the Polynesian Resort, which goes to great lengths to make you feel like you are on a tropical island. It’s like you walked into Hawaii – the scent of tropical flowers somehow fills the hotel and there is a VOLCANO WATER SLIDE at the pool. Kona Cafe is renowned for its coffee but the fish tacos weren’t half bad either!

5. Salmon at Artist Point

(Via)

After a long day of waiting in line for rides, sometimes you just need to get away. I highly recommend Artist Point restaurant in the gorgeous Wilderness Lodge resort. This hotel is themed like Yellowstone Park in all of its splendor (it has its own geyser – pretty impressive) and the restaurant’s menu features foods from the Pacific Northwest. The salmon was perfectly cooked and served with potatoes and carrots. I also shared the cheese plate (blue cheese, goat cheese, and a gouda cheddar) which was perfectly paired with a selection of breads, honeycomb, and fruit.

I must admit that I have barely scratched the surface of the magical dining opportunities that Disney offers… and I think that is the perfect excuse to go back! Have you been? Make any good-food memories?

13 Responses to “What I Did On My Spring Break: Or, A Few Delicious Things I Ate At Disney World”

  1. ninjapalooza March 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    this sounds like a delicious vacation. i’m from california too and my favorite time to go to disneyland is when they have the haunted mansion decked out Nightmare Before Christmas style.

    • farmtoforkdc March 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      I totally agree – love the Christmas Mansion!

  2. HK March 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Oh, I went to walt disney world a few years ago, but they didnt have mickey pretzel!!! They only had mickey ice-cream which was melting soon as i open the plastic wrap. lol I should go back for the pretzel!
    Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

  3. winniechao March 25, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    The specialty apples look delicious! What are the ears of that chocolate Minnie made of, do you know?

    My memories of Disney World are primarily of the rides and long lines. I think the only food or drink I even remember from all my childhood trips are bottles of water or cups of lemonade, which were greatly needed after standing in line in the hot summer sun.

    From your observations, did you see many other child-less adults at the park? Were any of the restaurants or dining locations specifically targeted at this demographic?

    • farmtoforkdc March 26, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      I think the ears were chocolate covered caramels! My BF and I were joking that we were “The 1%” at DWorld – the 1% of adults without a child, that is. πŸ™‚ I will add that DWorld is much more adult-friendly in terms of food and drink options than DLand. There are a ton of gorgeous hotels on the property and each one has a separate family-themed and adult-focused option.

  4. District RestauRANT March 25, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    I can’t even begin to tell you how jealous I am right now. I’m not even kidding. I have been BEGGING my boyfriend reLIGiously for the past 6 months to go to Disney World with me. Does anyone else get that urge?? Well, I’VE had it since freshman year of college. I just NEED to go. Lately, it’s been especially strong. And reading this post is not making it any better. Seriously. NOT. nice.

    I couldn’t even read your entire post because I was afraid my fingers might wander over the keyboard and start typing “P-R-I-C-E-L-I-N-E-.-C-O-M” — and then POOF! I’d have a plane ticket and would HAVE to go…

    That food looks SCRUMPTIOUS. All I want to do is go to Epcot and eat around the world. It’s pretty much my favorite place on earth. And now I might not be able to speak to you for awhile because I’m so envious. We’ll see. Red velvet cupcakes could make me come around πŸ˜‰

  5. District RestauRANT March 25, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    P.S. Do they still sell those creepy-as-balls-and-very-UN-Disney turkey legs?? Those things were SO weird.

    • stlconfidential March 26, 2012 at 2:42 am #

      This post brings back so many memories! I haven’t been to Disneyworld since 4th grade and would love to go back. I’ve got to try one of those Mickey pretzels…

    • farmtoforkdc March 26, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      You NEED to go! And it is only a 1 1/2 hour flight (nonstop) from DCA to Orlando! πŸ™‚ Epcot is definitely on my to-do list for next time. And yep, the turkey legs are in full force! They even have t-shirts now… http://blogs.ocweekly.com/navelgazing/turkey_leg_shirt.jpg

      • District RestauRANT March 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

        Sooooo flipping weird!!! But Epcot is pretty much my favorite place in the world (mainly because you can SEE the world in one beautiful stroll!) — Next time you go, you HAVE to see Mexico. Gahhhh!

  6. Allee Sangiolo (@asangiolo) March 26, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    It’s so funny to hear an adult’s take on disney. like others, I dont remember the food at all–i just remember the rides and the castle and the fireworks (and my dad making up a song about how much he hated it to the tune of “It’s a Small World” and singing it the entire time…). I was in Atlanta this past weekend and had a similar experience. I visited the Georgia Aquarium, and I was so happy to be one of the few people there not lugging around a stroller, having to spend hours touching the starfish, or dealing with a kid mid-meltdown in the long line. Maybe a trip to disney is in order!

  7. nikkidisresearch March 26, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I loved going to Disneyland when I lived in CA as an adult, and was always happy to be there WITHOUT a kid!!! I want to go to Disney World too before long. The food seems oddly delicious for a theme park – but maybe it’s because I never ever thought about eating upscale at Disney – though the beers at California Adventure were pretty solid.

    • farmtoforkdc March 26, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      It was GREAT to be child-less! I must say that this was my first attempt at classy eating at a theme park and it added a whole new dimension to the fun!

Leave a Reply

