Peeps Take The Cake

7 Apr

Happy spring!

I will be spending Easter with my cousins and their kids (ages 15, 13, 7, 6, and 1) in Baltimore. Being the good holiday guest that I am, my first inclination was to whip up a fun, family-friendly dessert for the occasion.

Now, back home in California, the tradition is to make a quote-on-quote “bunny cake” to bring to the family Easter celebration. I have made such a cake for as long as I can remember.

To help you visualize:

However, this year, I was feeling adventurous. This year, my horizons would be broadened. This year, a new cake would be on the menu.

I give you, the Peeps (TM) Sunflower Cake.

But first, a fun fact about Peeps, the sugary little treat that some people love and others love to hate. In 1954, the “Just Born” company launched the candy line. Back them, it took 27 minutes to make a Peep. Today it takes just 6 minutes, thanks to the modern miracle of science. And faster ovens. For more Easter food trivia, check out Yum Sugar.

Recipe adapted from http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Peeps-Sunflower-Cake.

Ingredients:

1 package (18-1/4 ounces) yellow cake mix
(You could always make your cake from scratch – I love this recipe, but I have to say that there is just *something* that tastes so right about a Duncan Hines Butter Yellow cake mix.)
2 tubs chocolate frosting2 packages yellow chick Peeps
1/2 bag dark chocolate chocolate chips

Directions:

Bake cake according to package directions (about 25 minutes at 325 degrees), using two  9-inch round baking pans. Cool completely. (Please disregard the Stella in the photo below; they are a necessary part of the baking process…)

Level tops of cakes. Spread frosting between layers and over the top and sides of cake. (I added some chocolate chips to the middle layer, too!) Smooth the sides with a knife.


Without separating Peeps and curving slightly to fit, arrange chicks around edge of cake for sunflower petals.

For sunflower seeds, arrange chocolate chips in center of cake. Voila!

Happy baking! This is one of those recipes that is so simple to make but brings a definite “WOW” factor. If you do happen to suffer a baking mishap, never fear. Please make yourself acquainted with one of my favorite time-wasters er websites: cake wrecks. Honestly. It will warm your heart.

Thanks for reading!

9 Responses to “Peeps Take The Cake”

  1. Lynn Evans April 8, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    Happy Easter! Thanks for sharing the recipe for Peeps Sunflower cake. It looks super fun and easy to make. I agree that Peeps are the candy I love to hate. There is something that is super cute about them, but I have never really thought they tasted that great (way too sugary)! That being said, people get very creative with these season treats. Check out photos from this Peep Contest: http://www.chicagotribune.com/features/peeps/chi-peeps2012-ugcgallery,0,3403621.ugcphotogallery. Enjoy spending Easter with you cousins and their kids in Baltimore :).

  2. ninjapalooza April 8, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    My fave family Easter dessert was a lamb cake from Martha Stewart magazine — so cute! but, of course, super complicated because it was Martha Stewart. Great job on yours! Those kids are going to love it.

  3. HK April 8, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Wow! I want a bite!!! 😀

    • stlconfidential April 8, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      Omg this looks amazing!! Almost too pretty to eat, but I bet it’s delicious. Happy Easter!

  4. Kate April 8, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    OMG – this looks amazing! I love peeps. Have you seen the Washington Post Peep Show http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/magazine/peeps ? So much fun!!

  5. winniechao April 8, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    The cake you made is gorgeous! I would feel so bad cutting into it and tearing apart the chain of Peeps… but I’m sure I’ll get over that guilt with the first bite. I enjoy Peeps in moderation, unlike Kobayashi who just set a new world record: http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/04/08/legendary-competitive-eater-takeru-kobayashi-celebrates-easter-by-devouring-25-peeps-in-30-seconds/

  6. NoTimeFor10 April 8, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I absolutely love this! It looks beautiful!! While I know it is far away, do you have any good Christmas cake/baking ideas? I’m always looking for holiday treats.

  7. Allee Sangiolo (@asangiolo) April 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    This looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!! I’m bookmarking it for next easter and TOTALLY copying you. Also, I couldnt agree more about the deliciousness of some cake batter that comes out of a box. I love to bake and especially love to bake from scratch, but I’m a total sucker for a funfetti cake.

    • nikkidisresearch April 9, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      this is delicious and wonderful. And I agree with Allee — sometimes cake out of a box is just fine. I would love to see your bunny cake “shape” method though….

Leave a Reply

