Avocados Anonymous

22 Apr

When I was in college, one of the first silly Facebook groups that I remember joining was “I could eat cereal for any meal“.

Because, honestly. That pretty much summed up my life. I was a cereal addict. And for good reason: cereal is tasty, economical, and convenient.

However, as I have gotten older, my tastes have become somewhat more refined. Cereal has been replaced by homemade guacamole as my go-to meal. Because, while guac is somewhat more labor intensive to make, much like cereal, is it perfect for any situation.

(Proof that you can really find anything on Etsy – and to clarify, I do not own these. 🙂 )

Home alone late after work and don’t know what to eat for dinner? Guacamole!
Friends coming over to watch the game? Guacamole!
Forgot to eat breakfast and need something to eat RIGHT NOW? Guacamole!

Ordering guacamole at a restaurant can be dangerous. You never know what you are going to get – sometimes it is too mushy and you might even end up (gasp) with pre-packaged guac, which shouldn’t even count as guac at all! So in my mind, it is always better to just make it for yourself.

Below is my favorite guacamole recipe of all time. Guacamole + bacon = perfect.

Bacon Guacamole

(Image and recipe adapted from ClosetCooking.com)

Ingredients
(Serves 2-3, depending on how much they love guacamole)

4 strips of bacon, crumbled
2 large avocados, mashed
1 medium tomato, seeded and finely diced
1/4 cup white onion, finely diced
1 tablespoon cilantro, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Cook the bacon until crispy and set it aside on paper towels to drain. Crumble it up.
Mix everything.
Ta-dah!

Sadly, I have realized (but don’t understand how it can be possible) that not everyone in this world is an avocado lover. Are you a guacamole fan? Do you have your own favorite recipe?

10 Responses to “Avocados Anonymous”

  1. HK April 22, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    LOOOOOOVE the avocado earrings!!! 😀

  2. NoTimeFor10 April 22, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Everything is better with bacon… 🙂

  3. Kate April 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    I LOVE AVOCADOS!!! The best sandwich in the world is turkey, tomatoes and fresh avocado. Who am I kidding, avocado on anything is amazing :).

  4. winniechao April 22, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I love avocados, especially roughly diced with tomatoes, red onions, and jalapenos (garlic, salt, and pepper, seasoned to taste).

    I visited a friend in Baltimore and we ate at Mari Luna Mexican Bistro. They have an Azteca guacamole that includes avocado, pumpkin seed, goat cheese, roasted garlic, roasted corn, tomato, and cilantro. It’s an interesting twist on traditional guac!

  5. Courtney April 23, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    If you’re a fan of making guacamole, you’ll also love this stop-motion animation short: http://youtu.be/FQMO6vjmkyI

  6. Kalyani Phansalkar April 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    At Oyamel (another Jose Andres restaurant), they make fresh guacamole for you at the table! And it is so delicious…also because you can tell the waiter exactly how you want it. When I went there last with my family, we demolished that little bowl of guac in less than five minutes! yummmm

  7. Allee Sangiolo (@asangiolo) April 23, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I love love love avocados! Basically, if there’s avocado on something, I’ll order it a restaurant. My roommate does this thing where she cuts them in half and takes out the pit, and then just puts a mixture of white wine vinegar, lemon, and oilve oil in the middle. She calls them avocado boats and they are so simple and yummy!

  8. Miléna (@MilenaTCK) April 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Avocado w/ mozzarella is incredible! Lauriol Plaza by Adams Morgan has the best guacamole btw.

  9. District RestauRANT April 23, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    STOP IT YOU AND I ARE THE SAME PERSON!!!!! I put avocado on EVERYTHING. Sometimes when I’m hungry and don’t have any food, I just put sliced avocado between two pieces of bread and eat myself an avocado sandwich. It’s legit the best food on earth. Delishhhhhhh!!!!

  10. nikkidisresearch April 24, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    when I was younger I hated avocados, but now they are the best. I have found it really difficult to deal with the lack of avocados on the east coast having left LA. Please tell me where you find such a steady supply.

Leave a Reply

