Coming Full Circle – Cinnamon Roll Edition

28 Apr

Ever have one of those weeks? You know, when there just aren’t enough hours in the day? And tensions start to run high? And, much like a reality TV program, things between you and your co workers stop being polite and start getting REAL?

I pulled nearly 12 hour days all week in preparation for my  work’s annual conference, which starts on Monday. My near future is bound to be exhausting.

But I have a secret weapon to boost staff morale. On Monday morning I will be rolling into work with a couple of pans of these bad boys.

Behold. The ultimate cinnamon roll, courtesy of The Pioneer Woman. (I figured it would be appropriate to pay homage one last time to my favorite ranch wife-turned food blogger since my first post celebrated her delish potato skins.)

But honestly, what better way is there to start off a long week than with a little doughy sweet goodness?

The thing about these cinnamon rolls is that they require a significant a time investment. You have to set aside enough time to let the dough rise (at least an hour). But the other thing about these cinnamon rolls is that you can easily make them ahead of time, freeze them in the pan and bake them immediately before you would like to enjoy them. (As I just did!)

The full recipe is available here: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/cinammon_rolls_/. Beware – it makes 40 to 50 cinnamon rolls. Honestly. If you don’t need that many cinnamon rolls in your life, please halve the recipe. (That is what I normally do.)

One last note – PW’s (really delicious) icing recipe calls for maple flavoring and coffee. If you don’t happen to have maple flavoring on hand (and who does?), I suggest using my little trick: Mix 2 cups powdered sugar with 1/4 cup milk (more if needed), a few tablespoons of melted butter, and a few tablespoons of coffee. It works wonders.

Enjoy! This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. If you would like to learn a bit more about PW and her amazing, beautiful, gorgeous ranch, check out this post: http://thepioneerwoman.com/blog/2012/04/the-cow-calf-operation/

Another guaranteed antidote to a rough week?

Meet Porkchop (sharing my Snuggie):

Have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Coming Full Circle – Cinnamon Roll Edition”

  1. Lynn Evans April 28, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    The cinnamon rolls looks super delicious (my mouth is watering just looking at them). Thanks for sharing the recipe. I definitely will try making these once the spring semester of classes are over.

    I love that you started and ended your blog series with recipes from the Pioneer Women. I think there is something very poetic about that.

    I hope your 12-hour days are over and that you have some time for some serious rest and relaxation :).

  2. NoTimeFor10 April 29, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I love your suggestion about the maple flavoring! That’s such a great idea and seriously, who has that on hand? I love PW! My sister actually made my family these cinnamon rolls when I was home for Christmas. They are absolutely fantastic! Very decadent and I’m not a big “sweet” person, especially in the morning.

    • stlconfidential April 30, 2012 at 12:11 am #

      These look delicious! I’m hungry after just reading this…only too bad I don’t have all the ingredients at midnight on a sunday night to make them.

Leave a Reply

